All applicants must be registered in the basic administration of Sint Maarten, if of foreign nationality with an original valid resident permit.
A written petition addressed to the Minister of Justice c/o Head of Civil Registry with the following attached:
-        Copy of valid identification card issued on Dutch Sint Maarten or valid passport
-        Clear copy of valid foreign driver’s license

-        Clear copy of the back of the foreign driver’s license​
-        Resident permit if applicable
-        Petition should be logged at the new Government Building at the receptionist.

Once request has been approved, continue to the following steps:
-        Set an appointment for a driver’s license application
-        Valid identification card issued on Dutch Sint Maarten or valid passport
-        Current original foreign driver’s license
-        Medical declaration (may not be older than two months)
-        Resident permit if applicable
-        Fee: NAFL 700,- to be paid during driver’s license application
-          Foreign driver’s licenses that have expired will not be approved
-          Only countries that are a member of the convention (see below) can be transferred
-          Driver’s licenses issued from the Dominican Republic, Jamaica, India & Haiti require a declaration of the specific license. Declarations must be legalized in the country of origin, and translated by a sword translator if in a foreign language.
Member state of the Road Traffic Convention
Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Benin, Botswana, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Central African Republic, Chile, Congo, Côte D'Ivoire , Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Democratic Republic of Congo,  Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Holy see, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho,  Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa,  Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Venezuela, Zimbabwe.